Thursday
Feb102011
Are Oats Gluten Free?
![Date Date](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Author Author](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Tag Tag](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Tag Tag](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Email Article Email Article](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Print Article Print Article](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Category Category](/universal/images/transparent.png)
![Category Category](/universal/images/transparent.png)
ARE OATS GLUTEN-FREE? It depends. Oats do not naturally contain gluten. However, they contain a protein called "avenin" to which many folks (especially those with Celiac disease) are sensitive. Oats can be dusted with wheat flour at the factory. And can also be contaminated on the farm. Wheat & oats often are planted in rotation on the same land, causing cross-contact. If you are able to have oats, get the gluten-free kind. But introduce oats carefully and mindfully if you have a gluten allergy.
Bob's Red MIll has a great blog post about this. Read on!
Reader Comments